Good morning, I’m going under.

kidney cartoon
I imagine this is how excited Cheryl’s body is right now.

It’s a beautiful day to save a life! Let’s have some fun.

Who knew that I could randomly pull a memorized quote from McDreamy on Grey’s Anatomy to describe how I’m feeling just before I head into surgery to donate my kidney to Cheryl.

Seriously though. This process has been 7 months in the making for me and three years in the making for Cheryl. There are so many emotions. Lots of people have asked me if I’m nervous and I can’t lie and say that I haven’t been nervous here and there throughout the process. This is the first surgery I’ve ever experienced, and as my aunt Sharon told me last night “the first one is a doozy.”

More than anything, the prayers, love and support have been overwhelming and comforting.

I’m more than grateful and humbled by the support system Cheryl and I both have. The calls, the messages, the texts, the surprise gifts at my door step and most of all the prayers have been very uplifting. Surgery is expected to last anywhere from 3-5 hours. Cheryl and I will be in side by side operating rooms. I’ll go in first, she’ll go in about 30 minutes after me. I’m expected to be in surgery for 3-5 hours, and the miraculous thing is that my kidney is expected to start working almost instantly. That’s why when Cheryl wakes up, she’ll feel like a million bucks and when I wake up I’ll probably feel like a 2 dollar bill… but it will be so, so worth it.

People have asked what the scars will look like.

I’m blessed that science has advanced so much that this surgery is laparoscopic. I’ll have three small incisions for the camera and tools and one 3-4 inch scar above my belly button. While my bikini days have really been over since I turned 30… I’m going to be so proud of these scars. Why? Because they are a testimony. They show that God made us in his image, he made us to be able to survive with one kidney. He made Cheryl and I a match, and he brought us together through Neil. I was doing my morning devotions yesterday and ended up reading the entire book of Galatians. I was wrapping up the entire chapter, already starting to think about what stood out to me. Then… this.

scars

What do you do to prepare for surgery?

It’s kind of an odd thing… the day before surgery. How do you occupy your time? Cheryl was already admitted in the hospital on Sunday and they decided to give her one more round of dialysis. My dad and Karen, his fiancee, are in town from Louisville, KY and staying with us, so it’s been nice to catch up with them and stay distracted. I woke up Sunday with butterflies… prayers at church… nap & snuggles with hubby…mindful coloring…dinner with family…a round of H-O-R-S-E with the hubby at a nearby park…60 Minutes… shower…pack…pace the floor…deep breaths… Everybody Loves Raymond… FOX 17 news at 10…tossing and turning until 4 a.m. off to St. Mary’s at 5:30 a.m. and surgery at 7:30 a.m.

And now… I’m taking a nice…. long… nap in the OR.

I’m expected to be out of the hospital by Wednesday or Thursday. Can’t drive for two weeks and off work for about three weeks. More blogging to come when the pain meds wear off.

Humor is such a healer. That’s why I needed to share this cartoon below. To all of my friends, family, co-workers and readers… keep on laughing and keep on loving.

kidney cartoon1

6 thoughts on “Good morning, I’m going under.

  1. I’m so happy to have found this blog! I’m thinking of you and your mother-in-law and willll be following this through your recoveries. I’m donating a kidney in August, and this will also be my first surgery, so I’m reading all of the donor stories I can find. Thank you for making this gift and for sharing your experience! I hope that your amazing story will inspire others to “share [their] spare”. ❤

    Like

    1. Hi Brittany,
      Any time you have questions feel free to reach out. I’m still in recovery but I’m happy to give any tips I can to help. Thanks for being a donor! ❤

      Like

  2. You are a true testament of God’s unchanging love for us! God bless your recovery and your mom-n-law’s healing! #LoveYourLife 😚

    Like

  3. Hi, I just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Megan and I am a recipant of a kidney transplant. I also had a living donor we were a 1 out of 6 with our antigens. I didn’t have to do dialysis, I was very blessed. From the time that I found out that I needed a transplant to the time of surgery it was a total of 5 months! My donor felt the same way you did with wanting to help and felt called to go and get tested. I am 8 months post transplant (November 9, 2015) and have done well, I have had a few bumps along the way, but that has only made me stronger.
    I hope you are doing well. I also hope that Cheryl is doing well and that her new kidney is working GREAT! The transplant team is AMAZING and know what they are doing all the doctors and nurses are great.

    Like

    1. Hi Megan,
      It’s so encouraging to hear your story!

      Cheryl and I are slow and steady recovering but we can see the light at the end of the tunnel and the kidney started working instantly for her. Praise God.

      Thanks so much for sharing and best of luck to you in your future health!

      Like

Leave a Reply

